Meet the Chorale

At its heart, the Tyler Civic Chorale is a grassroots effort created and sustained across nearly fifty years by community members from all walks of life who find—and want to share—beauty through their blended voices.

Organized with a common goal to explore the vast tradition of choral music at a refined level of musicianship, the group of vocalists is self-governed by a board of directors elected from its own membership. And although this membership is drawn from a wide variety of life paths, they all share music as a deep avocation.

Weston Jennings.jpg

 Artistic  Director - Weston Jennings

Weston comes to us from Yale University’s Institute of Sacred Music, an interdisciplinary program combining faculty from Yale’s School of Music and Yale Divinity School. He received his college education at the Eastman School of Music in Rochester, NY, one of the world’s premier music schools. After college, he spent two years in England, first at Canterbury Cathedral and then at the Cathedral Church of St. Mary, St. Peter, and St. Cedd in Chelmsford.



Judy Wilkins | Rehearsal Accompanist

As the Chorale’s resident accompanist, Judy Wilkins adeptly maps the sonic terrain of each rehearsal, drawing the choir’s attention to harmony and rhythm with grace and precision. Her studied patience with the rehearsal process was born from years of working with student musicians. Recognized as a nationally certified teacher of music by the Music Teachers’ National Association, Ms. Wilkins directs a private piano studio specializing in the Suzuki approach and teaches students from early childhood to adult.

In demand as an accompanist, Ms. Wilkins holds degrees in piano performance and interdisciplinary studies from the University of Texas at Tyler, and is a member of the East Texas Music Teachers Association, Suzuki Association of the Americas, and the National Guild of Piano Teachers, where she serves as an adjudicator and chairperson. 


Board of Directors

Ramona Chance, president
Chris Raney, president-elect
Cherisa York, past president
Joan Curtis, treasurer
Debbie Finley, secretary

Debbie Ippolito
Claudia Carroll
Beverly Abel, ex-officio




Linda Compton
Ila England
Mary Lee
Holly Marsh
June Mauer

Suzi Pundt
Judy Wilkins
Cherisa York



Tandy Brandt
Claudia Carroll
Ramona Chance
Joan Curtis
Tori Dorsey

Debbie Ippolitto
Judy Kuna
Kathy Miller
Rachel Rendall
Wendy Reinke
Frances Simpson
May Wright



John Ardill
Chris Brooks
Royal Daniel
Chris Hernandez
Cliff Johnson

Mark McGowan
Chris Raney
Tony Rives
Wes Schmidt
Rodney Whetzel



Bob Burnett
Billy Ray Dean
Bill Girard
Samuel Hsieh

Randy Hunnicutt
Brian Leo
Charlie Niven
JT Pundt